2016 Cape Cod Clambake

Oyster Harbors Club, Hyannisport Club, Wianno Club – Cape Cod, MA
September 18-21, 2016

Cape Cod once again welcomed ASGA Members for at three outstanding private clubs! Great food, drinks and hospitality were offered as well, with members enjoying dinner at Hyannisport Club, cocktails at Wianno, and a gala closing dinner at Oyster Harbors with filet and lobster tails. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate on Monday at Hyannisport and only nine holes were played non-competitively. This did not dampen spirits however, as the sun came out as the week went on culminating in one of the best days of the year at Oyster Harbors Wednesday

We were thrilled to welcome the following New ASGA Members to their first event at The Clambake and hope to see them often at upcoming events: Dean and Karen Barnard; Gilles and Merrilee Gagnon; Peter and Jane Jordan; Raymond and Deanna Lazzara; Bob Romanow.

ASGA in recent years has developed a Rainmaker Society with the goal of recognizing those Members who have been exceptionally helpful in sponsoring New Members to the Association. Each September we recognize those ASGA Members who have introduced two or more New Members in the past 12 month period and each were given a shirt from Peter Millar noting the Rainmaker designation. Please join us in thanking the following 10 Members for their tremendous support during the past year: Fred Baggett, C.C. Coghill, Wayne Edwards, Mike Irish, Mo Krausman, Chip Landon, Mal Makin, Bruce Milligan, Michael Rappaport and Jay Walton.

At the ASGA Annual Meeting, Governors elected unanimously to the Board were Ken Auerbach, Peter Malkin, Charles Sammons and Bruce Shannahan. Many thanks to outgoing Governors Ric Behan, Jerry Missel and Bob Lauer for their years of support.  A very special thanks to Wayne Edwards who ended a terrific five year appointment as ASGA Treasurer. ASGA remains fiscally sound in large part to his oversight and we also thank Ken Auerbach who takes over that position as an Officer.

The ASGA Charitable Trust is a 501(c)3 foundation with the goal of supporting junior golf programs around the country. If you would like more information on programs we have sponsored in recent years, have a recommendation for a program that should be considered or would like to make a donation please just contact the ASGA Office and we will be happy to help.

In the golf competition, congratulations go to Bob Stuart who always plays well at the Cape!!  He once again captured the Forbes Wilson award for the overall Men’s Gross Championship with rounds of 71 at Wianno and 76 at Oyster Harbors. Congratulations also go to Bruce Shannahan who was low net in capturing the Tom Monaghan Award with the top overall Men’s Net score, and Ken Auerbach who was the overall Stableford Division Champion. Steve Chernock took home the top prize for Super Seniors Gross/Net while Peter Malkin and George Savoy tied for that same honor for the Stableford Division.

The Ladies were led by great play from Geri McLauchlan who won the Gross Championship, Yuko Nozawa who captured the top Net prize and Susan Auerbach who brought home top Stableford honors. Please take a moment to enjoy some of the scenes from the week and many thanks to the over 100 attendees who helped to make The Clambake such a memorable week.