2013 Cape Cod Clambake

Oyster Harbors Club, Hyannisport Club, Wianno Club – Cape Cod, MA
September 22-25, 2013

Cape Cod once again welcomed ASGA Members with three days of bright sunshine and pleasant Fall temperatures for rounds of golf at three outstanding private clubs! Great food, drinks and hospitality were offered as well, with members enjoying dinner at Hyannisport Club, cocktails at Wianno, an authentic clambake lobster dinner at Oyster Harbors and a gala closing dinner at Oyster Harbors. Dates later in September were utilized in order to take advantage of optimum golf course conditions and the Golf Clubs did not disappoint the largest field to attend an ASGA event since 2008 with 84 Members plus spouses!

We were thrilled to welcome the following New ASGA Members to their first event at The Clambake and hope to see them often at upcoming events: Connelly, Warren & Carolyn Rand Sponsored by Rand Allen Cutshall, Walt & Allison Cook Sponsored by Dan Milligan Dritz, Mike & Joan Returning former Members Hires, Jeff & Donna Sponsored by Rich Lefebvre Lefebvre, Rich & Mary Jane Sponsored by John Hynes Mauro, Ed & Karen Returning former Members Nickel, Al Sponsored by Joe Holmes Ryan, Rob & Martha Sponsored by Dan Milligan Storie, Earl & Pam Sponsored by Laurence Schmid and Roger Sutton.

As you may recall from our Annual Meeting last year, ASGA has developed a Rainmaker Society with the goal of recognizing those Members who have been exceptionally helpful in sponsoring New Members to the Association. Each September we recognize those ASGA Members who have introduced two or more New Members in the past 14 month period and each will be given a shirt from Peter Millar noting the Rainmaker designation. Please join us in thanking the following Members for their tremendous support during the past year….Chip Landon, Steve Chernock, Sandy Wise, Mickey Sutfin, Roy Young, David Harabedian, C.C. Coghill, Andy Cerone, Bruce Milligan, Mike Irish, Chuck Sammons, Ric Behan, Dan Milligan, Joe Holmes and Roger Sutton.

At the ASGA Annual Meeting, two new Governors were elected unanimously and we would like to officially welcome Bob Lauer and Chuck Sammons to our leadership group. We would also like to thank outgoing Governor Al Durrett for his great service over the past six years.

At the Board Meeting Wednesday a new slate of Officers were unanimously elected and we are very pleased to introduce Bruce Milligan, President; Mike Brewer, Vice President; Wayne Edwards, Treasurer; Chip Landon, Secretary. Many thanks to C.C. Coghill who served ASGA in outstanding fashion for the past two years as President and was honored with a plaque at the closing awards dinner. Also at the closing dinner, a presentation was made to Ken Kinsey for his tremendous support of the ASGA Charitable Trust and Ed Mauro thanked ASGA Members for their support of the Button Hole Golf Program in Rhode Island last year through the Trust.

The ASGA Charitable Trust is a 501(c)3 foundation with the goal of supporting junior golf programs around the country. If you would like more information on programs we have sponsored in recent years, have a recommendation for a program that should be considered or would like to make a donation please just contact the ASGA Office and we will be happy to help.

Another feature of the Clambake and Awards Dinner at Oyster Harbors was a golf art exhibit sponsored by the Society of Golf Art with beautiful original and print works from renowned artists Linda Hartough and Richard Chorley.

In the golf competition, congratulations go to Rob Ryan of Hilton Head Island, SC who played well all week in capturing the Forbes Wilson award for the overall Men’s Gross Championship. Congratulations also go to John Jacob of Worthington, OH who also played extremely well in capturing the Tom Monaghan Award with the top overall Men’s Net score, and Peter Koch of Warwick, RI who was the overall Stableford Division Champion. Chip Landon of Orlando, FL took home the top prize for Super Seniors Gross while Al Nicholson of Bonita Springs, FL had the top Net Super Senior score and Joe Holmes of Norwalk, CT won the same honor for the Stableford Division.

The Ladies were led by great play from Carol Milligan who won the Gross Championship, Poppy Holmes who captured the top Net prize and Leeda Allen who brought home top Stableford honors. Please take a moment to enjoy some of the scenes from the week and many thanks to the over 150 attendees who helped to make The Clambake such a memorable week. Thanks also to Sandy Wise and Steve Curtis for their help with terrific photos from the event!

Leave a Reply