2014 Cape Cod Clambake

Oyster Harbors Club, Hyannisport Club, Wianno Club – Cape Cod, MA
September 14-17, 2014

Cape Cod once again welcomed ASGA Members with three days of bright sunshine and perfect temperatures for rounds of golf at three outstanding private clubs! Great food, drinks and hospitality were offered as well, with members enjoying dinner at Hyannisport Club, cocktails at Wianno, an authentic clambake lobster dinner at Oyster Harbors and a gala closing dinner at Oyster Harbors. Golf course conditions were the best in memory at all three Golf Clubs did not disappoint a large field of 84 Members plus spouses!

We were thrilled to welcome the following New ASGA Members to their first event at The Clambake and hope to see them often at upcoming events: Don and Brenda Ardinger; Ruffin Cain; Mike and Kris Chiumento; Dan and Lesley Finegan; George and Marianne Grask; Chuck and Marty Hunt; Paul and Monty James; Moe and Debbie Kreag; Dick and Mary Pat McCleary; Bob and Kate McMenimon; Mark and Kathy Olson; Bob and Pat Perrone; Glen Rapoport; Ed and Danni Shobe; Stephen Signor; Dick Stafford; Mark and Michele Teskey.

ASGA in recent years has developed a Rainmaker Society with the goal of recognizing those Members who have been exceptionally helpful in sponsoring New Members to the Association. Each September we recognize those ASGA Members who have introduced two or more New Members in the past 12 month period and each will be given a shirt from Peter Millar noting the Rainmaker designation. Please join us in thanking the following 25 Members for their tremendous support during the past year: Ric Behan, Mike Brewer, William Brower, Andy Cerone, C.C. Coghill, Steve Curtis Richard DiMaio, Wayne Edwards, Bob Fennel, Dick Gruber, Joe Holmes, Mike Irish, Ken Kinsey, Bill Lichtenberger, Mal Makin, Peter Malkin, Bruce Milligan, Al Nicholson, Peter Patrick, David Pearce, George Raymond, Laurence Schmid, Roger Sutton Dave Willis, and Roy Young.

At the ASGA Annual Meeting, a new Governor was elected unanimously and we would like to officially welcome Mo Krausman to our leadership group. We would also like to thank outgoing Governor Roger Sutton for his great service over the past six years.

The ASGA Charitable Trust is a 501(c)3 foundation with the goal of supporting junior golf programs around the country. If you would like more information on programs we have sponsored in recent years, have a recommendation for a program that should be considered or would like to make a donation please just contact the ASGA Office and we will be happy to help.

In the golf competition, congratulations go to Bob Stewart who played consistently well all week in capturing the Forbes Wilson award for the overall Men’s Gross Championship. Congratulations also go to Harry Rohrer and Buzz Tarver who tied for low net in capturing the Tom Monaghan Award with the top overall Men’s Net score, and George Savoy who was the overall Stableford Division Champion. Dave Willis took home the top prize for Super Seniors Gross while Chip Landon had the top Net Super Senior score and Dan Milligan won the same honor for the Stableford Division.

The Ladies were led by great play from Carol Kunsman who won the Gross Championship, Carol Milligan who captured the top Net prize and Rekha Lawande who brought home top Stableford honors. Please take a moment to enjoy some of the scenes from the week and many thanks to the over 150 attendees who helped to make The Clambake such a memorable week.