2016 Stroke Play Championship

Pine Tree Golf Club/The Breakers Rees Jones Course – Palm Beach, Florida
December 11-14, 2016

A terrific field of 46 ASGA Members plus spouses were welcomed to Palm Beach for the 2016 Stroke Play Championship December 11-14, 2016. The historic Breakers Resort Hotel served as the host for accommodations as well as receptions and an outstanding opening gala dinner. At our dinner, the ASGA Charitable Trust presented a check for $5,000 to the First Tee of the Palm Beaches and Tim Rosaforte from The Golf Channel was in attendance to accept the check and speak to the group. Tim serves on the Board of the First Tee and offered his thanks as well as some insight into the program, followed by some entertaining comments about the world of golf and a Q&A session with the Membership. Many thanks to ASGA Members Erling Speer and Steve Curtis for helping to arrange such a terrific surprise!

Members in attendance were also treated to a very special round on Monday at Pine Tree Golf Club, thanks to Ron Gottfred and Don McLauchlan for their incredible help in arranging the hospitality as well as a great group of ASGA Members from Pine Tree who provided great support. For those of you who have not had an opportunity to play Pine Tree, it is an outstanding golf course and should be very high on the “must play” list for Florida! The Breakers West Rees Jones Course was also in terrific condition and as always provided a fun and challenging experience for participants. With temperatures in the mid-80’s and sunny throughout our stay while most of the country was freezing, it was really a perfect week!!

As is always the case with ASGA events, the hospitality and camaraderie were featured throughout and we welcomed five terrific new members to join us (Peter and Peggy Derham; Bill and Barbara Etherington; Bernie Loehr; Bill and Tracy Martin; Charlie Weston) for their first event with ASGA and hope that we see them at many more to come.

Congratulations go to Mal Makin who played three great rounds and captured the top prize for the second consecutive year as 2016 Stroke Play Champion, defending his Championship from Bermuda!!!  Congratulations also to Net winner Don Meyer and Super Senior winner Mike Howell. The Stableford Division was led by Tom Cole, with Bill Lichtenberger the taking top honors as Super Senior Champion.

The Ladies Championship Division winners were Carol Kunsman (Gross) and Geri McLauchlan (Net) while Tracy Martin captured the Ladies Stableford Trophy.

Please take a moment to browse some terrific photos from the week below and thanks as always to Steve Curtis for his great work behind the camera!